Cheap Auto Insurance in Utah
Auto Insurance Requirements in Utah
Utah is one of 12 states employing some sort of no-fault model for car insurance. Under no-fault laws insurance companies are responsible for covering the claims of their own drivers regardless of who is at fault in an accident. For all practical purposes this means drivers in a no-fault state cannot sue other drivers unless medical bills reach a specific threshold. Anything above and beyond what liability insurance covers is the responsibility of each driver’s insurance company.
Being that Utah is a no-fault state their car insurance requirements are a bit more stringent. The cheapest car insurance policy is a combination of liability insurance and personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. Liability pays for bodily injury, death, and property damage for those you hit; PIP pays your own medical expenses. Under Utah law minimum amounts are:
• $3,000 in PP coverage
• $25,000 per accident for a single person suffering injury or death
• $65,000 per accident for multiple individuals suffering injury or death
• $15,000 per accident to cover property damage
Utah is unusual in that their combined bodily injury/death benefit is more than double what it is for a single individual. They’re also odd in the sense that they don’t require uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) insurance despite the fact that they are a no-fault state.
Purchasing Extra Coverage
Utah drivers will be required by banks and other lenders to purchase collision and comprehensive insurance as a condition for getting a loan. But given the fact that Utah is a no-fault state, such insurance should also be considered even if your loans are all paid off. Otherwise, money you would use to repair or replace your vehicle could be spent having to cover your medical bills. Obviously, you can also purchase glass coverage, extra coverage for high-performance or designer parts, fire and theft coverage, flood insurance, and more.
Maintaining Your Insurance
You don’t want to be caught driving a vehicle in Utah without proper insurance coverage. Doing so is considered a Class B misdemeanor punishable by a $400 fine for the first offense. Subsequent offenses go up from there. In addition, you’ll also facing license and registration suspension that will remain in force until you can prove you’ve purchased an affordable car insurance policy.
As part of maintaining your insurance you also need to carry proof of your policy in your car at all times. You’ll need to show the document to a police officer after an accident or during a traffic stop.
Keep in mind that the state of Utah compares their database of registered vehicles against a list of cars with known insurance policies. From time to time the state reviews those records and sends letters to drivers whose records don’t match up. Furthermore, police agencies have access to that information as well. They’ll know at a moment’s notice whether or not you really have a valid insurance policy.