Cheap Auto Insurance in Washington
Auto Insurance Requirements in Washington
Every driver in the state of Washington is required to establish proof of financial responsibility before driving registered vehicles on public roads. There are a couple of exceptions including motorcycles and mopeds, antique or classic cars more than 30 years old, and government vehicles. All others must meet the requirements through one of the following options:
• purchasing an auto liability insurance policy
• depositing $60,000 with the state treasurer’s office or other recognized state agency
• post a minimum $60,000 bond from a state licensed surety company
• self-insure as a dealer with 26 or more vehicles
Washington Liability Insurance
An affordable car insurance policy is the most common way for owners of private passenger vehicles to satisfy state requirements. As such, we’ll look at minimum liability limits in Washington, usually expressed as 25/50/10. These three numbers represent the following:
• $25,000 per accident to pay for injuries or death of a single person
• $50,000 per accident to pay for injuries or deaths among multiple persons
• $10,000 per accident to pay for property damage
Always remember that liability insurance, by definition, is money that gets paid to accident victims when you are responsible for the accident. It does not pay your medical bills or to replace or repair your car. Those things are the responsibility of your health insurance plan and your collision and comprehensive insurance. If you’re concerned about having an accident with someone else who is not properly insured you can purchase additional uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage.
Insurance Company Responsibilities
If you choose to satisfy the requirements of the law through a cheap auto insurance policy, your carrier will be required to furnish you with an insurance identification card that includes vehicle information, your name and address, policy dates, and your policy number. You’ll need to present this card when registering a vehicle, renewing a registration, or when a police officer requests it as the result of an accident or violation.
If you’ve chosen one of the other options your documentation will include a certificate of deposit provided by the state treasurer, a bond certificate from the issuing surety company, or a self-insurance certificate provided by the state. If you can’t produce documentation when requested by a police officer the state will automatically assume you have no insurance and you’ll face of $450 fine. You can contest the fine in court by providing the proper documentation.
If you really don’t have the proper liability protection in place you’ll have to pay that fine and face any other penalties imposed by the court. Penalties could include license and registration suspension, an SR-22 requirement, and additional fees as determined by the details of your case.
Rest assured that a conviction will temporarily prevent you from buying the cheapest car insurance available. You’ll have to wait until your record is clean before your rates return to normal.